Friday, December 15, 2023

Mizoram Polls: ZPM’s CM Candidate Triumphs in Serchhip; party on track to form government with 17 wins, leads in 10 seats

- Advertisement -

Lalduhoma, the Chief Ministerial candidate of the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), has emerged victorious in the Serchhip Assembly constituency of Mizoram, as announced by the Election Commission of India following the state polls held on November 7. Lalduhoma secured a decisive win by defeating Mizo National Front candidate J Malsawmzuala Vanchhawng with a margin of 2982 votes.

The Election Commission of India’s data indicates that the ZPM is on track to form the government independently in Mizoram, with victories in 17 seats and leading in 10 seats at 1 PM. The major contenders in the elections included the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), Congress, and the BJP.

The MNF managed to secure wins in six assembly constituencies, while the BJP emerged victorious in Saiha and Palak seats. Notable defeats include Mizoram’s lone Rajya Sabha MP K. Vanlalvena, Deputy Chief Minister Tawnluia, and cabinet ministers Lalruatkima and R. Lalthangliana.

Despite the Election Commission not officially declaring the result for Aizawl East – I, trends suggest that incumbent Chief Minister Zoramthanga is trailing in the seat against ZPM’s Lalthansanga.

Lalduhoma, expressing his confidence in the expected outcome, stated that he is not surprised and anticipated these results from the beginning. He announced plans to meet the Governor on Tuesday to stake claim to form the government and mentioned the inauguration could take place within the month.

Acknowledging the financial challenges facing Mizoram, Lalduhoma emphasized the need for financial reforms and mentioned the formation of a resource mobilization team after assuming power.

Dr. Kenneth Chawngliana, the Vice President of ZPM, outlined the party’s priorities, focusing on agriculture, self-sufficiency in food production, electricity, communication, and addressing the concerns of the younger generation.

The Mizoram assembly elections witnessed a keen contest between the traditional players, Congress and MNF, and the emerging force, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), which positioned itself as a primary challenger in the political landscape dominated by Congress and MNF since Mizoram achieved statehood in 1987.


Latest news

Related news