Thursday, December 14, 2023

INDIA Bloc Set to Convene Key Meeting on December 19

- Advertisement -

The upcoming meeting of the leaders from the INDIA bloc is scheduled for December 19 in the national capital.

Congress leader Jairam Ramesh, through ‘X,’ conveyed, “The fourth meeting of INDIA party leaders is set to take place on Tuesday, December 19, 2023, in New Delhi at 3 p.m.”

Originally, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge had convened a meeting of INDIA bloc leaders on December 6. However, the gathering was called off as crucial opposition figures, including Janata Dal United (JDU) Supremo and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Trinamool Congress (TMC) Chief and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin, and Samajwadi Party (SP) Chief Akhilesh Yadav, did not confirm their attendance. Bihar CM Nitish Kumar cited illness as the reason for his absence from the significant meeting.

“I want that work should progress. It was being said in the news that I won’t attend the meeting. This is nonsense, I was down with a fever at that time. Is it possible that I will go not to the meeting? In the next meeting of the alliance, we should chalk out a plan for the future,” said Nitish Kumar. 

Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren conveyed to Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge that he won’t be able to attend a meeting on Wednesday, citing prior commitments: “I will be occupied here. I spoke to Kharge Ji yesterday, and perhaps a representative from our side will attend,” Soren informed reporters in Ranchi.

Simultaneously, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee stated that she was not notified about the scheduled meeting. Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, on the other hand, was preoccupied with addressing the aftermath of a cyclone in the state.

With the Lok Sabha polls just four months away, the impending INDIA bloc meeting is expected to focus on crucial matters such as seat sharing. This becomes particularly significant for the Congress party, given its recent losses in the Assembly polls in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh, the Hindi heartland states.

Also Read: Vishnu Deo Sai as the Next Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh

Catch all the updates on NewsX

Latest news

Related news