Thursday, December 14, 2023

Mizoram Assembly poll result: ZPM crosses halfway mark, leads on 22 seats, says ECI trends

- Advertisement -

The initial counting trends in Mizoram on Monday indicate the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) moving towards victory. At 9:52 am, the Election Commission of India reported that the ZPM was leading in 22 assembly constituencies, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) was ahead in 10 seats. The Indian National Congress (INC) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) were leading in one and two seats, respectively.

Lalduhoma, the ZPM’s chief ministerial candidate, is leading in the Serchhip constituency with 1390 votes, according to the latest data from the Election Commission of India. The counting of votes for the 40-member Mizoram assembly started at 8 a.m. across 13 centers and 40 counting halls in the state. There are 399 EVM tables and 56 postal ballot tables in use, with nearly 4000 personnel involved in the counting process, as reported by the state election commission.

Originally scheduled for December 3, the counting in Mizoram was postponed to Monday following representations to the Election Commission, citing the religious significance of Sunday in the Christian-majority state. Four major contenders in the election are the ruling MNF, ZPM, Congress, and BJP.

Mizoram’s political landscape has been traditionally dominated by the Congress and MNF since gaining statehood in 1987. Zoramthanga, the President of the MNF and Chief Minister, is a prominent figure in this election. The ZPM, positioning itself as the primary challenger, has nominated Lalthansanga, their party vice president, against the three-time Chief Minister.

Elections were held on November 7, with Central Armed Police Forces deployed in the innermost cordon and state police in the outer cordon for security. Deputy Commissioner Nazuk Kumar assured that the counting process is peaceful and well-prepared for any victory procession or celebrations.

Latest news

Related news